Skip to content

Tag: Awards

Brave Girl – Lunchbox Theatre
Photo Credits

News (Calgary): Youth Playwriting Program receives $10,000 Award from Field Law

FIELD LAW COMMUNITY FUND PROGRAM AWARDS $40,000 TO 2015 WINNERS Regional law firm donates funds to local Southern Alberta community initiatives for third year  Field Law, a regional law firm with offices in Calgary, Edmonton and Yellowknife, is proud to be celebrating its 100 year anniversary by granting $100,000 to

News (Calgary): 2015 Betty Mitchell Award Nominees announced!

2015 BETTY MITCHELL AWARD NOMINATIONS ANNOUNCED! Excellence shines through as nominations honour a diverse group of companies Today, the Betty Mitchell Awards Board of Directors is pleased to announce nominations for the 2015 Betty Mitchell Awards, celebrating outstanding achievement in professional theatre in Calgary. The 87 nominations across 17 categories

News: One Yellow Rabbit’s Blake Brooker nominated to the Order of Canada

His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada, announced on July 1st 100 new appointments to the Order of Canada. The new appointees include 2 Companions (C.C.), 11 Officers (O.C.) and 87 Members (C.M.). These appointments were made on the recommendation of the Advisory Council for the Order of Canada.

News (Edmonton): 2015 Elizabeth Sterling Haynes Awards recipients announced

The 28th Annual Elizabeth Sterling Haynes Awards were held on Monday, June 22, 2015 at the Mayfield Dinner Theatre. Theatre Alberta was pleased to sponsor two awards – Outstanding Artistic Achievement, Theatre for Young Audiences and Outstanding New Play. Theatre Alberta congratulates all the nominees and recipients! Click here for the Edmonton Journal article

News (Edmonton): 2015 Cappies recipients revealed

Photograph by: Larry Wong, Edmonton Journal The Cappies (Critics and Awards Program) is an international program for recognizing, celebrating, and providing learning experiences for high school theater and journalism students and teenage playwrights. Click here to visit The Cappies of Greater Edmonton website.  The 2015 award recipients were announced at a

News (Calgary): 2015 Calgary Critics Awards recipients revealed

The reipients of the Fourth Annual Calgary Critics Awards (The Critters) were announced on June 8th in an award ceremony at Commonwealth Bar. The 2015 Critter Award recipients are: Best Supporting Actress in a PlayMaureen Thomas – The Games Afoot (Vertigo Theatre) Best Supporting Actor in a PlayJoel Cochrane – High Life (Ground Zero

News (Alberta): ADFA Provincial One Act Festival recipients announced

Congratulations to The Tighty Whities of Calgary! Their production of Smee’s Secret was awarded Outstanding Production at the Alberta Drama Festival Association (ADFA) Provincial One Act Festival, which took place May 22 – 23 in Red Deer. The Tighty Whities will receive a one-day Workshop by Request as their prize.

News (Edmonton): Nominees for the 2015 Elizabeth Sterling Haynes Awards announced

On June 1st, the nominees for the 2015 Elizabeth Sterling Haynes Awards, celebrating Edmonton’s theatre community, were announced. The 28th Annual Elizabeth Sterling Haynes Awards will take place Monday, June 22, 2015 at the Mayfield Dinner Theatre.  Theatre Alberta congratulates all the nominees – and a special shout out to our

News (National): Wildfire National Playwriting Competition Winners Announced

The Major Matt Mason Theatre Collective in association with Sage Theatre announces winners for the first ever Wildfire National Playwriting Competition This June, The Major Matt Mason Collective in association with Sage Theatre will be presenting public readings of Cleave by Elena Belyea and Always by Michaela Jeffrey, the winners

News (Alberta): Cheryl Foggo wins 2015 Gwen Pharis Ringwood Award for Drama

The Writers’ Guild of Alberta revealed the winners of the 2015 Alberta Literary Awards in Edmonton on May 23. More than 125 attended the Gala, part of the Writers’ Guild of Alberta’s 2015 Edmonton Conference Words in 3 Dimensions: Intersections. Congratulations to Cheryl Foggo of Calgary whose play John Ware Reimagined won the

News (Calgary): 2015 Calgary Critic Awards Nominees Announced

Calgary Theatre Critics, Stephen Hunt of the Calgary Herald, Louis B. Hobson of the Calgary Sun, and Jenna Shummoogum of Downtown Calgary Association ( are pleased to announce the nominees for the fourth annual Calgary Theatre Critics’ Awards. Nominees were chosen from any production performed in Calgary between June 2014

News (Alberta): 2015 Lieutenant Governor of Alberta Distinguished Artist Award recipients announced

Puppeteer extraordinaire, Ronnie Burkett of Toronto, renowned soprano, Frances Ginzer, Calgary, and internationally acclaimed artist Peter von Tiesenhausen of Demmitt, Alberta, will receive Alberta’s highest arts recognition, the 2015 Lieutenant Governor of Alberta Distinguished Artist Award.  “These artists are celebrated internationally, yet maintain strong connections to Alberta that continue to

News (Fort McMurray): ADFA North Region Zone Festival results announced

On April 27, the Alberta Drama Festival Association (ADFA) North Region Zone Festival was held at Keyano Theatre in Fort McMurray. The festival was adjudicated by Valmai Goggin. The winner of Best Production will participate in the ADFA Provincial Festival in Red Deer, May 22-23. The results of the festival

News (Edmonton): 2015 Mayors Celebration for the Arts Award Recipients Announced

The 28th Annual Mayor’s Celebration of the Arts 2015 Award Recipients (April 21, 2015 – Edmonton) – Mayor Don Iveson and the Professional Arts Coalition of Edmonton (PACE) are pleased to announce the recipients of the 28th Annual Mayor’s Celebration of the Arts. Mayor’s Award for Innovative Support by a

Skip to content