Skip to content

Tag: Awards

Brave Girl – Lunchbox Theatre
Photo Credits

Theatre Community Represents! Avenue Calgary and Edmonton Top 40 Under 40

Alberta’s Theatre Community is well represented in Avenue Magazine’s Top 40 Under 40 annual feature for both Edmonton and Calgary! Avenue Magazine’s Top 40 Under 40 list honours individuals under the age of 40 who are excelling in their careers, giving back to the community and raising the profile of

Call for Submissions (Alberta): Dr. Dasha Goody Foundation Scholarship

Dr. Dasha Goody Foundation Scholarship  PURPOSE AND CRITERIA  PURPOSE OF THE AWARD: To provide project-specific funding assistance to a vocal performing arts student for the purpose of advancing their Musical Theatre Training.  WHO IS ELIGIBLE TO APPLY: Any Alberta vocal performing artist interested in advancing their training to the next

News: 2012 Governor General’s Literary Awards finalists announced

The 2012 Governor General’s Literary Awards finalists were announced today. Congratulations to Alberta artists Karen Hines, Cathy Ostlere and Dennis Garnhum for their nominations in the Governor General Literary Awards for Drama. (Albertans make up 50% of the finalists for this category!) View all nominations on the Canada Council for

Announcement (National): Award Short Lists – Playwrights Guild of Canada (PGC)

Award winners were announced on October 22, 2012 – click here for details. Short lists for PGC’s Carol Bolt Award, as well as the New Musical Award, and the New Comedy Award, were released today by their respective juries: Carol Bolt Award for Playwrights – 2012 Short List This award is given annually

News: 2012 Betty Mitchell Awards Nominees announced

2012 Recipients have been announced! Click here to view. The Betty Mitchell Awards, named for a pioneer of Calgary’s theatrical community, Dr. Betty Mitchell, were started in 1998 to celebrate and honour outstanding achievement in Calgary’s professional theatre  community. The Betty Mitchell Awards provide the opportunity to recognize the excellent


News: Theatre Alberta Awarded 2012 CITT Honorary Membership Award

Each year the Canadian Institute for Theatre Technology/Institut canadien des technologies scénographiques (CITT) recognizes individuals and companies that excel in their field of live performance in Canada. Theatre Alberta is proud to accept the 2012 CITT Honorary Membership Award. This particular award recognizes an individual or an organization not actively

News: Nicole Moeller wins 2012 Gwen Pharis Ringwood Award for Drama

Congratulations Nicole Moeller – 2012 winner of the Gwen Pharis Ringwood Award for Drama! The Writers Guild of Alberta revealed the winners of the 2012 Alberta Literary Awards in Calgary on June 9, 2012 in conjunction with the Book Publishers Association of Alberta’s Alberta Book Publishing Awards and the Edmonton

News: Calgary Theatre Critics’ Awards announced

MEDIA RELEASE For Immediate ReleaseJune 7, 2012 media contact: Jessica Goldman jessica@applausecommunications.com403-926-2126 Critics Announce New Theatre Awards in Calgary Public invited to help give the awards an official, stage-worthy name Oscar is taken. Tony is, too. Dora is out, Jessie is messy and better forget Betty, Emmy and Grammy as

News: 2012 Sterling Awards Nominees Announced

Update: Click here for a list of all 2012 Sterling Awards recipients. Congratulations all! PricewaterhouseCoopers and the 2012 Sterling Committee are proud to present the 25th Annual Elizabeth Sterling Haynes Awards, a quarter century of celebrating the professional theatre in Edmonton. The ceremony will take place at The Mayfield Dinner

News: 2012 Alberta Playwriting Competition Winners Announced

The Alberta Playwrights’ Network is pleased to announce the winners of the 2012 Alberta Playwriting Competition, the longest running provincial competition of its kind in Canada, offering the largest cash prize of any provincial playwriting competition. Edmonton playwright Collin Doyle received the Grand Prize Category honor for his full-length play

Awards (Edmonton): 2012 Cappies Nominees Announced

The 2012 Cappies nominees are: Best play The Crucible, St. Albert Catholic High School Pump Up The Volume (School Edition), Austin O’Brien High School Noises Off, St. Joseph High SchoolThe Velveteen Rabbit, Archbishop Jordan High School Best musical Legally Blonde, Strathcona High School Cabaret, Ecole J.H. Picard White Christmas, Paul

Call for Submissions (Edmonton): 2012 Enbridge Nextfest Emerging Artist Awards

The Enbridge Nextfest Emerging Artist Awards are designed to recognize, encourage and support the initiative and excellence of young independent artists residing in Alberta. For the purpose of these awards an emerging artist is defined as an individual who is under the age of 30 has completed an initial phase

News: One-Act Festival Winners and New ADFA Board Announced

Here are the names of the winners of the 2012 Provincial Adult One Act Festival hosted by the Alberta Drama Festival Association (ADFA): Outstanding Production: The Wooden Pear by Gillian Plowman presented by the Dewdney Players Group Theatre, Okotoks Outstanding Director: The Wooden Pear by Gillian Plowman directed by Florence Maione and Steve Buoninsegni

Announcement: 2012 Gwen Pharis Ringwood Award for Drama Nominees

The Writers Guild of Alberta (WGA) is thrilled to announce the finalists for the 2012 Alberta Literary Awards! The Alberta Literary Awards recognize and celebrate the highest standards of literary excellence from Alberta authors. Awards jurors have deliberated 195 submissions to select 23 finalists in eight categories. Finalists represent extraordinary

Announcement: Hot Acts Cool Plays Festival Award Winners

Update: The Wall is not able to make it to the ADFA Provincial One-Act Festival in Camrose: Five Ways to Break a Woman’s Heart is going in its place. The play stars Michelle Thorne and Kendra McNutt. Directed by Shauna Lee Allen and is written by Michael Beamish. Congrats folks

News: Award Recipients for the 2012 Mayor’s Celebration of the Arts

Theatre Alberta would like to congratulate the recipients and all the nominees of the 2012 Mayor’s Celebration of the Arts. The 2012 recipients are: Award for Innovative Support by a Business for the Arts ATCO Gas & ATCO Electric Award for Sustained Support of the Arts REALTORS® Association of Edmonton,

2012 Rozsa Award Nominees Announced

2012 Rozsa Award Nominees  For our 10th anniversary, we are excited to announce the nominees of the Rozsa awards. This year, we have seven arts managers from a variety of genres across Alberta, with four from Calgary and three from Edmonton!  Join us in congratulating:  Rose Brow, Managing Director of Quest

Skip to content