Skip to content

Tag: Awards

Brave Girl – Lunchbox Theatre
Photo Credits
Woman With Brown Hair and Burgendy Shirt Smiles

News (National): 2021 Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award Recipient is Announced

The Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award is Presented to Lori Marchand and Protégé Cheyenne Scott PACT is pleased to present the annual Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award to long-time PACT supporter and Managing Director of the Indigenous Theatre at the National Arts Centre, Lori Marchand. The award was presented at PACT’s virtual


Call for Submissions (National): The 2021 Siminovitch Prize

The 2021 Siminovitch Prize nominations portal is now open, and we are calling on the theatre community to submit nominations for the most prestigious prize in Canadian theatre. Do you know an innovative mid-career theatre designer that deserves national recognition, $75,000, and the opportunity to support a fellow emerging designer

Mile Zero Dance

Call for Submissions (Edmonton): Progressive Artist Award – Mile Zero Dance

The MZD Progressive Artist Award recognizes the achievements of Edmonton-based artists who actively work in the arts and engage with the community in challenging and exciting ways. Award recipients will be chosen by a local panel of adjudicators. The recipient will receive a $1,000 cash prize, announced at the MZD

Call for Submissions (Alberta): The 2021 Distinguished Artist Awards

NOMINATE A DISTINGUISHED ARTIST Nominate an outstanding Alberta artist for the 2021 Lieutenant Governor of Alberta Distinguished Artist Awards. Nominations are open until February 21, 2021. The awards will take place in Lac la Biche on June 12, 2021. To prepare for the nomination: Ensure the nominee is a Canadian


News (National): Tara Beagan Named 2020 Laureate of the Siminovitch Prize

Ntlaka’pamux playwright Tara Beagan has been named the 2020 laureate of the Siminovitch Prize, the largest and most prestigious theatre prize in Canada. Ms. Beagan will receive $75,000, and $25,000 will go to her selected protégée, Joelle Peters. Ms. Beagan, who is based in Mohkinstis (Calgary), is proud to be


Event (National): 2020 Siminovitch Prize

Join the celebration of Canadian theatre innovation and find out who will win the $100,000 Siminovitch Prize.   Joignez-vous à nous pour une célébration de l’excellence et de l’innovation en théâtre canadien et découvrez qui va remporter le prix Siminovitch de 100 000 dollars.   This year’s shortlist features five

News (National): 2020 Tom Hendry Award Winners Announced

  The winners of the Robert Beardsley Award, RBC Emerging Playwright Award, Sharon Enkin Theatre for Young Audiences Award, Playwrights Guild Comedy and Musical Awards, Carol Bolt Award, and Bra D’Or Award were announced at the Tom Hendry Awards online ceremony in partnership with The Arts and Letters Club of


News (National): The CASA Award Announces 2020 Winner

The CASA Award is pleased to announce that the winner of the 2020 playwriting award is writer, theatre-maker and educator Genna Gardini of Cape Town, South Africa. The Jury, consisting of South Africans – educator and voice-body guide/sonic dramaturg Lieketso Mohoto, and writer/adaptor/director/ theatre-maker Janice L. Honeyman – and Canadian


Announcement (National): The 2020 Siminovitch Prize Short List

  The Siminovitch Prize Foundation has announced the shortlist for this year’s Siminovitch Prize, the most prestigious theatre award in Canada. The jury has selected five outstanding playwrights as finalists for the esteemed theatre prize, now celebrating its 20th year of honouring excellence and innovation in Canadian theatre.   The

News (Calgary): The 2019-2020 Critter Award Winners

  Congratulations to all of the 2019-2020 Critter Award Winners!! Best Touring Show — Let’s Run Away an HPR/reWorks Productions co-production   Best Direction — Anita Rochon for Strangers on a Train, Vertigo Theatre   Best Supporting Performance — Tyrell Crews for Noises Off at Theatre Calgary   Best Leading

Announcement (Edmonton): The 2019-2020 Sterling Award Nominees

Congratulations to all the 2019-2020 Sterling Award nominees! The 33rd Annual Elizabeth Sterling Haynes Awards will take place Monday June 29th beginning at 7:00 pm on Youtube. The ceremony will live online in perpetuity so if you miss the live stream you can always catch it at your leisure. Visit

Announcment (Calgary): The 2019-2020 Critter Award Nominees

The 2019-2020 theatre season may have ended far too early, but there is still so much excellent theatre to celebrate. Here are the nominations for this year’s Calgary Theatre Critics Awards, known affectionately as The Critters. Congratulations to all the nominees! BEST TOURING SHOW Let’s Run Away – HPR/reWorks Productions

Call for Submissions (National): The 2020 Tom Hendry Awards

  Submission are open for the 2020 Tom Hendry Awards!   Each year Playwrights Guild of Canada hosts an annual awards competition honouring Canadian playwrights in a wide range of categories. The awards are named after Tom Hendry, a founding member of PGC who passed away in 2012. The awards

Call for Submissions (National): Submissions are open for the 2020 Siminovitch Prize

  The Siminovitch Prize, which celebrates its 20th anniversary this year, and the National Arts Centre have announced a call for nominations for the Siminovitch Prize, Canada’s most prestigious award in theatre. Despite these tumultuous times, both organizations are planning for the annual celebration of excellence and innovation in Canadian theatre

Skip to content