Why Donate

Donate    I     Why donate     I     Our Partners & Supporters


Theatre Alberta is a registered Canadian charity that relies on the generosity of individual donors and patrons to accomplish our mission. Donating to Theatre Alberta directly supports theatrical professional development and educational programs and services for Albertans young and old, no matter where they live or what their background is.


Every year, Theatre Alberta graciously accepts donations from like-minded individuals and organizations who believe that we have something unique in Alberta. That our theatre community is vibrant and innovative, and that it deserves to be celebrated. We invite you to join us. Together, we can ensure the continued success of all things theatrical in Alberta.

Theatre Alberta issues tax receipts for all donations of $20 or more. Donors are recognized on our website and in our monthly enewsletter, Theatre Buzz.

Here are some examples of how your donation can make a difference:


Adds a script to Canada’s largest fully circulating theatre library


Nourishes and houses an Artstrek student for a day


Distributes library materials free-of-charge to Theatre Alberta members across the province for one month


Provides a bursary for an adult learner to attend a professional development opportunity offered by Theatre Alberta.


Creates employment packages for distribution to Alberta’s artistic directors showcasing the newest crop of graduated actors at Emerge


Sends a professional artist to a rural community for a one-day Workshops by Request


 Provides 50 Artstrek students with their essential learning tool – the script!
Did you know?
Albertans receive one of the highest charitable tax credits in Canada – 50% on every dollar donated over $200 annually; 25% for every dollar donated below $200 annually.

How do I make my donation?

It’s easy. Donate online at theatrealberta.com/donate or call/visit our Theatre Alberta office. You can also donate by mail with your cheque or money order. Please make a cheque payable to:

Theatre Alberta
3rd floor, Percy Page Centre
11759 Groat Road
Edmonton AB  T5M 3K6

To discuss planned giving opportunities or to make a contribution to The Theatre Alberta Foundation (managed by Mackenzie Charitable Giving Fund), please contact Keri Mitchell, Executive Director at [email protected] or 780-422-8162.

If you have any other questions please don’t hesitate to contact the Theatre Alberta office by phone at 780-422-8162 or toll free at 1-888-422-8160, or you can email Keri Mitchell, Executive Director, at [email protected].

For more ways to give, check out the menu at the top of this page!

I want to become more involved with Theatre Alberta

There are two ways to become more involved with Theatre Alberta (and they aren’t mutually exclusive!):


Theatre Alberta Society is a member-service organization that proudly represents more than 1,000 individual and group members from across the province.

Theatre Alberta members represent an engaged section of the Alberta theatre community and have access to programs and services that are either exclusive to members or otherwise cost a fee for the general public.

If you would like to learn more about becoming a member of Theatre Alberta Society, please visit theatrealberta.com/membership or call us at 1-888-422-8160 (or 780-422-8162 in Edmonton).

Partnership Opportunities

Theatre Alberta has a variety of programs and services designed to meet the needs of every corner of the theatre community. Theatre Alberta needs support from corporate partners in order to maintain and grow these programs and services.

If you would like more information about how you and your organization may want to become involved in a specific Theatre Alberta program, please contact Keri Mitchell, Executive Director, at [email protected]

Our sincere thanks goes to all of our members who supported our application for designation as a Canadian Charity, and to the staff of Canada Revenue Agency’s Charities Directorate who assisted us with our application. Special thanks go to Marie Gynane-Willis and former Program Coordinator Jana O’Connor for their research and diligence during the application process.