Skip to content

News (Alberta): Alberta Playwrights’ Network Announces Shortlist for the 2018 Playwriting Competition

Brave Girl – Lunchbox Theatre
Photo Credits

News (Alberta): Alberta Playwrights’ Network Announces Shortlist for the 2018 Playwriting Competition


2018 Alberta Playwriting Competition

Shortlist Announcement

The jury has reviewed all 44 submissions to this years competition and the shortlist of plays remaining in contention for the Grand Prize in the 2018 Alberta Playwriting Competition, presented in association with Theatre Alberta are:

  • The Ministry of Grace by Tara Beagan

    With precision and grace I was transported to a powerfully evocative time and place. The characters’ journey in this play felt both timeless and pertinent. I will be dreaming about Grace for a long time to come.” (Juror comment)
  • Cipher by Ellen Close and Braden Griffiths

    Cipher is exhilarating. The play is compelling, physically and theatrically innovative, possesses a strong voice, and culminates in a disquieting end mired in issues facing contemporary society. It’s all here.” (Juror comment)
  • Charlie Horse by Megan Dart

    Theatrical, intimate and inventive. Charlie Horse utilizes environmental staging in a way that feels organic and true, allowing us to see Charlie, a child in the margins, in a way we otherwise would not get to see. A poignant gem of a play.” (Juror comment)
  • The Silver Arrow by Mieko Ouchi

    Re-imagining a classic story that creates an aliveness and energy in the way that The Silver Arrow re-images Robin Hood requires mastery and a passion for the story. Besides being a really good tale chock-a-block with authentic characters and unexpected surprises this boldly updated classic is full of wonderfully poetic images that are sure to create a rich and enriching experience for anyone who sees this beautiful play.” (Juror comment)

The jury also selected a recipient for the 2018 Novitiate Prize for an outstanding play by an unproduced playwright.

The Grand Prize and Novitiate Award winners will be announced at the Elizabeth Sterling Haynes Awards (Edmonton) and the Betty Mitchell Awards (Calgary) on June 25, 2018.

Skip to content