Skip to content

News (Edmonton): Nominations for the 2018 Elizabeth Sterling Haynes Awards Announced

Brave Girl – Lunchbox Theatre
Photo Credits

News (Edmonton): Nominations for the 2018 Elizabeth Sterling Haynes Awards Announced


Article from The Gateway
by Jonah Dunch

Edmonton theatre artists Richard Lee Hsi and Megan Dart announced the nominees for the 31st Annual Elizabeth Sterling Haynes Awards, Edmonton’s theatre awards show, on Monday, June 4, 2018, in the lobby of the ATB Financial Arts Barn.

Named after a pioneer of the Edmonton theatre community, the Sterling Awards honour plays, musicals, theatre for young audiences (TYA), and Fringe productions. Sterling-nominated actor April Banigan also announced the recipients of three lifetime achievement awards. Sterling Juror Shannon Blanchet said the scope and quality of the nominations demonstrates Edmonton’s importance in the national arts scene.

“We like to think of ourselves as a little town,” Blanchet says. “But we’re a significant part of Canadian theatre.”

The 31st Annual Sterling Awards ceremony will take place on June 25, 2018, at The Mayfield Dinner Theatre, with dinner at 5 p.m. and the show at 6:30 p.m. Rachel Bowron and Hunter Cardinal will co-host. Tickets are $65 plus GST.

Read the full article here: https://www.thegatewayonline.ca/2018/06/31st-annual-sterling-awards-nominees/

Read a related article with all nominations here: https://12thnight.ca/2018/06/04/the-year-onstage-in-sterling-award-nominations/

Skip to content