Skip to content
The Virgin Trial – Alberta Theatre Projects
Photo Credits

Call for Submissions (Alberta): The 2018 Gwen Pharis Ringwood Award for Drama

Call for Submissions (Alberta): The 2018 Gwen Pharis Ringwood Award for Drama


Writers' Guild of Alberta

The Gwen Pharis Ringwood Award is given to a play written by an Alberta author published or produced in 2017. Submitted plays can be one act or full-length. Unpublished plays must have had a run of three consecutive performances.

Past winners have included Vern Theissen, Beth Graham, Cheryl Foggo, Clem Martini, Brad Fraser, Marty Chan, Sharon Pollack – the list goes on.

The postmark deadline for submissions is December 31.

Full guidelines can be found here:

Entry forms can be submitted here:

About the Award

The Gwen Pharis Ringwood Award was established in 1985 in honour of Gwen Pharis Ringwood (1910-1984). Ringwood was born in Washington State in 1910 and moved with her family to a farm near Lethbridge in 1913. She received her Bachelor of Arts degree from the U of A in 1939 and was appointed the registrar of the Banff School of Fine Arts. Her first published play, Still Stands the House, published in 1939, was the most performed one-act play in Canadian theatre. Ringwood was honoured for her achievement with honourary doctorates from both the University of Lethbridge and the University of Victoria and the Governor General’s Medal for outstanding service in the development of Canadian drama.

Theatre Alberta does not necessarily endorse the organizations and/or individuals submitting Classified listings on our site. It is the responsibility of each patron using the Theatre Alberta Classifieds to research the integrity of the organizations who submit listings to which they are applying/responding and to verify specific information, especially pertaining to the job/audition listings and youth listings.

Skip to content