fbpx
Skip to content

Job (Calgary): Stage Manager/Assistant Stage Managers – Birnton Theatricals

The Virgin Trial – Alberta Theatre Projects
Photo Credits

Job (Calgary): Stage Manager/Assistant Stage Managers – Birnton Theatricals

 

Birnton Theatricals is looking for stage manager/assistant stage managers for our 2017-2018 season.
Birnton Theatricals mandate is to produce theatre and offer educational programming that introduces kids and young adults to the power and magic of live theatre and drama.  Our goal is to not only foster the development of beginning artists but also to excite a young generation into becoming lifelong patrons of the arts.

We are specifically looking for people for our Crayon series. We have 3 shows this year that will be presented at Stage West Theatre as their Stage West for Kids series. We are looking for both stage managers and assistant stage managers for our season. We welcome people to apply for individual shows or the whole season. We are looking for emerging theatre artists to be part of our season.

PREVIOUS STAGE MANAGEMENT EXPERIENCE REQUIRED.

Stage Manager duties include all duties typically expected with the position, from attending all rehearsals to calling the show at performances. We perform on the Stage West set so part of the duties will include setting up and striking our set and props. The Stage West for Kids shows all have a buffet prior to the show. Rehearsals will consist of approximately 44 hours of rehearsal and will be scheduled around our artists schedules. They will happen evenings and weekends. The specific details of the timelines can be found in the show details below.

All contracts are non- union and will receive an honorarium based on number of shows performed.

All I Want for Christmas Is My Two Front Teeth by Chris Stockton

Directed by Chris Stockton
Rehearsals for our Christmas show, All I Want for Christmas is My Front Teeth, will start late September and continue through November. We will have a tech rehearsal on stage in the evening of Monday, November 20 and a dress rehearsal in the morning before our opening show on Saturday, November 25. The show schedule is as follows:
Sat. Nov 25 – 12:15 pm
Sat. Dec 2 – 10:15 am
Sat. Dec 2 – 2:15 pm
Sat. Dec 9 – 10:15 am
Sat. Dec 9– 2:15 pm
Mon. Dec 11 – 7:15 pm
Sat. Dec 16 – 10:15 am
Sat. Dec 16 – 2:15 pm
Mon. Dec 18 – 7:15 pm
Tues. Dec 19 – 7:15 pm
Fri. Dec 22 – 10:15 am
Fri. Dec 22 – 2:15 pm
Sat. Dec 23 – 10:15am
Sat. Dec 23 – 2:15pm
Sun. Dec 24 – 10:15am
Sun. Dec 24 – 2:15pm

Note: Cast will be responsible for set up (prior to house opening 2.5 hours before show) and strike of each show.

Rapunzel by Chris Stockton

Directed by Rebecca Fauser
Rehearsals for our spring show will take place between February and May, 2018. We will have a tech rehearsal on stage in the evening of Monday, May 7 and a dress rehearsal in the morning before our opening show on Saturday, May 12. The show schedule is as follows:
Sat. May 5- 12:15pm
Sat. May 12- 12:15pm
Sat. May 19- 12:15pm
Sat. May 26- 12:15pm
Sat. June 2- 12:15pm
Sat. June 9- 12:15pm

Note: Cast will be responsible for set up (prior to house opening 2.5 hours before show) and strike of each show.

Hansel and Gretel by Chris Stockton

Directed by Chris Stockton
Rehearsals for our summer show will take place between May-July 2018. We will have a tech rehearsal on stage in the evening of Monday, May 9 and a dress rehearsal in the morning before our opening show on Saturday, May 14. The show schedule is still to be determine but will likely be on Saturdays between July 14-August 18.

Please contact Ailsa at ailsa@birntontheatricals.com to apply as a stage manager or assistant stage manager. We will be accepting applications until Monday, September 11.

 

Theatre Alberta does not necessarily endorse the organizations and/or individuals submitting Classified listings on our site. It is the responsibility of each patron using the Theatre Alberta Classifieds to research the integrity of the organizations who submit listings to which they are applying/responding and to verify specific information, especially pertaining to the job/audition listings and youth listings.

Skip to content