Skip to content

News (Calgary): The 20th Betty Mitchell Award Nominees Have Been Announced

Brave Girl – Lunchbox Theatre
Photo Credits

News (Calgary): The 20th Betty Mitchell Award Nominees Have Been Announced


the 20th betty mitchell award nominees have been announced! congratulations to all of the nominees!

The Betty Mitchell Awards, named for a pioneer of Calgary’s theatrical community, Dr. Betty Mitchell, were started in 1998 to celebrate and honour outstanding achievement in Calgary’s professional theatre  community. The Betty Mitchell Awards provide the opportunity to recognize the excellent work that takes place on our stages in Calgary throughout the year.

The Betty Mitchell Awards Nominating Committee is an anonymous jury of 12 theatre professionals, from a range of disciplines, who select nominees in 16 award categories from the eligible shows. To be eligible, the shows must run in the City of Calgary for at least nine performances over two weekends, and the shows must be professional in nature. Our accountant, R.W. (Bob) Quinlan, tabulates the input of the Nominating Committee and produces a list of nominees.

The final ballots are then distributed to the Nominating Committee members.  Final ballots are also distributed to any person who has seen at least 25 eligible shows during the season who have provided proof of attendance by submitting a Betty Mitchell Awards Passport.  This year final ballots were also sent to last year’s Betty Mitchell recipients, residing in the Calgary area. Ballots are then returned to our accountant, tabulated and the recipients are announced at the Betty Mitchell Awards ceremony.

For the full list of nominees, please click here!

The awards ceremony will be taking place on Monday, August 21 at The Playhouse (Vertigo Theatre) – 115  9 Avenue SE, Calgary, AB. T2G 0P5

For more information, or to find out how to buy tickets please click here.


Skip to content