Skip to content
Brave Girl – Lunchbox Theatre
Photo Credits

News: Nominees announced for 2015 Gwen Pharis Ringwood Award for Drama

News: Nominees announced for 2015 Gwen Pharis Ringwood Award for Drama

AlbertaLiteraryAwardslogoThe Writers’ Guild of Alberta Announces
The 2015 Alberta Literary Awards Shortlist!

The Writers’ Guild of Alberta (WGA) is thrilled to announce the finalists for the 2015 Alberta Literary Awards! The Alberta Literary Awards recognize and celebrate the highest standards of literary excellence from Alberta authors.

Awards jurors have deliberated more than 150 submissions to select 24 finalists in eight categories. Finalists represent extraordinary literary work written by Alberta authors and published in 2014.

Winners will be announced and awards presented at the Alberta Literary Awards Gala on Saturday, May 23, 2015.  The celebration will take place at the Chateau Lacombe Hotel (10111 Bellamy Hill Road) in Edmonton alongside the 2015 Words in 3 Dimensions Conference: Intersections.

Three Albertan playwrights were nominated for the Gwen Pharis Ringwood Award for Drama (sponsored by Alberta Views magazine):

  • Cheryl Foggo (Calgary) – John Ware Reimagined
  • Conni Massing (Edmonton) – The Invention of Romance
  • David van Belle (Calgary) – Liberation Days

The Writers’ Guild of Alberta is the largest provincial writers’ organization in Canada, and was formed in 1980 to provide a meeting ground and collective voice for the writers of the province. Its mission is to inspire, connect, support, encourage and promote writers and writing, to safeguard the freedom to write and to read, and to advocate for the well-being of writers.

Registration for the Awards Gala and Conference is now open at For more information, please call 1-800-665-5354 or visit

Skip to content