News (Alberta): Sequence by Arun Lakra wins 2014 Gwen Pharis Ringwood Award for Drama

Congratulations to Arun Lakra, whose play Sequence has won the 2014 Gwen Pharis Ringwood Award for Drama at the 2014 Alberta Literary Awards this weekend.

The Writers’ Guild of Alberta revealed the winners of the 2014 Alberta Literary Awards in Calgary on June 6, 2013 in conjunction with the Book Publishers Association of Alberta’s Alberta Book Publishing Awards and the Edmonton Public Library’s Alberta Readers Choice Award. More than 200 writers attended the 2014 Alberta Book Awards Gala, part of The Writers’ Guild of Alberta’s 2014 Calgary Conference, “After the Flood, Alberta Writers Unite One Year Later.”

The Alberta Literary Awards were created by the Writers’ Guild of Alberta in 1982 to recognize excellence in writing by Alberta authors. This year, jurors deliberated over 212 submissions to select 27 finalists in nine categories.

The Writers’ Guild of Alberta is the largest provincial writers’ organization in Canada, and was formed in 1980 to provide a meeting ground and collective voice for the writers of the province. Its mission is to inspire, connect, support, encourage and promote writers and writing, to safeguard the freedom to write and to read, and to advocate for the well-being of writers.

For more information, please contact the Writers’ Guild of Alberta at (780) 422-8174 or visit

2014 Alberta Literary Award Winners

R. Ross Annett Award for Children’s Literature

  • Karen Bass (Hythe) – Graffiti Knight, Pajama Press

Georges Bugnet Award for Fiction (Sponsored by The Banff Centre)

  • Ali Bryan (Calgary) – Roost, Freehand Books

Wilfrid Eggleston Award for Nonfiction

  • Tyler Trafford (Pincher Creek) – Almost a Great Escape, Goose Lane Editions

Gwen Pharis Ringwood Award for Drama (Sponsored by Alberta Views)

  • Arun Lakra (Calgary) – Sequence

Stephan G. Stephansson Award for Poetry (Sponsored by Stephan V. Benediktson)

  • Paul Zits (Calgary) – Massacre Street, University of Alberta Press

Amber Bowerman Memorial Travel Writing Award (Supported by Ann Campbell)

  • Trina Moyles (Peace River) – “The Chicken Feather”

James H. Gray Award for Short Nonfiction (Supported by Tony Johnson)

  • Curtis Gillespie (Edmonton) – “In the Chair: Clippings From Around the World,” Eighteen Bridges

Howard O’Hagan Award for Short Story (Supported by Vanna Tessier and Guy Tessier)

  • Jasmina Odor (Edmonton) – “His,” Eighteen Bridges

Jon Whyte Memorial Essay Award (Supported by members of the WGA Board)

  • Kim McCullough (Calgary) – “Night/light”

WGA Golden Pen Award for Lifetime Achievement

  • Alice Major

Belarus Free Theatre
The Citadel Theatre | Edmonton
July 2-6: Learn the unique play creation method of “one of the most powerful underground theatre companies on the planet” (*New York Times) in an exclusive master class opportunity.