Skip to content

News (Edmonton): The 27th Annual Mayor’s Celebration of the Arts: 2014 Nominees

Brave Girl – Lunchbox Theatre
Photo Credits

News (Edmonton): The 27th Annual Mayor’s Celebration of the Arts: 2014 Nominees

PACE_logo(March 17, 2014 – Edmonton) Mayor Don Iveson and the Professional Arts Coalition of Edmonton (PACE) are pleased to announce the award nominees for the 27th Annual Mayor’s Celebration of the Arts.

Congratulations to the following nominees:

Mayor’s Award for Innovative Support by a Business for the Arts:
Capital Power
Parlee McLaws
Mayor’s Award for Sustained Support of the Arts:
ATB Financial
Sine Chadi
Steven LePoole

John Poole Award for Promotion of the Arts:
Audreys Books
CJSR FM 88.5
Chelsea Boos
Brent Oliver

ATB Financial Ambassador of the Arts Award:
Jennifer Annesley
Prairie Dog Film & Television
Rapid Fire Theatre

ATCO Gas Award for Outstanding Lifetime Achievement:
Douglas D. Barry
Tony Cashman
Jan Henderson
Lyndal Osborne

CN Youth Artist Award:
Chilanda Bashangi
Aidan Burke
Abbie Cogger
Rebecca Lappa
Jeremy Tameta

DIALOG Award for Excellence in Artistic Direction:
Ian Crutchley (Society for New Music in Edmonton)
Ron E. Scott (Prairie Dog Film & Television)
Amy Shostak (Rapid Fire Theatre)

Robert Kroetch City of Edmonton Book Prize:
Selected Poems, Tim Bowling, Nightwood Editions
Disinherited Generations: Our Struggle to Reclaim Treaty Rights for First Nations Women and their Descendants, Nellie Carlson & Kathleen Steinhauer, as told to Linda Goyette, University of Alberta Press
Hellgoing, Lynn Coady, House of Anansi Press

Northlands Emerging Artist Award:
Jason Blower
Nuela Charles
Alexis Marie Chute
Ainsley Hillyard
Doug Organ
Elizabeth Withey

Syncrude Award for Excellence in Arts Management:
Chenoa Anderson (Society for New Music in Edmonton)
Catherine Crowston (Art Gallery of Alberta)
Dave Cunningham (FAVA – Film and Visual Arts Society)
Paul Matwychuk (NeWest Press)
Al Rasko (Edmonton Poetry Festival)
Jesse Szymanski (Prairie Dog Film & Television)

TELUS Courage to Innovate Award:
Gary James Joynes
Darcia Parada

The Mayor’s Celebration of the Arts showcases Edmonton’s vibrant arts and culture industry by bringing together the business community, artists, media and arts appreciators to honour the valuable contributions Edmonton artists and arts champions make to our city. A portion of the proceeds from this year’s event will be donated to the Music Enrichment Program, which provides quality, affordable, group instruction in violin, viola, cello and double bass, including the opportunity to play in Enrichment Orchestras, to students of the greater Edmonton area.

The 27th Annual Mayor’s Celebration of the Arts
Monday, April 28 at 7pm
Winspear Centre
Tickets available at | 780.428.1414

Featuring the artistic talents of: Mark Meer, Bridget Ryan, Mary Pinkoski, Mitchmatic, Kelsey Wolver, Arian Mahryke Lemire, Good Women Dance Collective, Jeff Stuart and the Hearts and many more!

Special thanks to our generous sponsors:
The City of Edmonton, ATB Financial, ATCO Gas, Audreys Books, Avenue Magazine, CBC, CKUA, CN, CTV, cut + paste, DIALOG, Edmonton Arts Council, Enbridge, Northlands, Production World, Qualico, Rileys, Syncrude, TELUS and The Works.

Download: For Immediate Release – Mayor’s Celebration of the Arts 2014 Award Nominees

Skip to content