Skip to content

Announcement: Hot Acts Cool Plays Festival Award Winners

Brave Girl – Lunchbox Theatre
Photo Credits

Announcement: Hot Acts Cool Plays Festival Award Winners


The Wall is not able to make it to the ADFA Provincial One-Act Festival in Camrose: Five Ways to Break a Woman’s Heart is going in its place. The play stars Michelle Thorne and Kendra McNutt. Directed by Shauna Lee Allen and is written by Michael Beamish. Congrats folks – we’ll see you in Camrose this weekend!

Hot Acts Cool Plays announces winners

After two days of tough competition, the Hot Acts Cool Plays award winners were announced on the final day of the 2012 Syncrude winterPLAY Festival. Events Wood Buffalo, the Alberta Drama Festival Association (ADFA), and Nexen teamed up once again to present this unique event.

“If you were lucky enough to watch the plays in the Hot Acts Cool Plays Festival, then you’d know that we have a lot of talent in this town. Some of the plays were full of laughter, others were sweet and sensitive, some were off the wall and some were very artistic. But that is what makes theatre so great. It communicates ideas. What was unique about this play festival is that all the plays were written by local members of this community,” said Jane Leavitt, festival judge.

5 awards were given out:
Best Technical Director – Brodie Dransutavicius for Zead
Best Playwright – Michael Beamish for Mac Attack
Best Director – Shauna Lee for Five Ways to Break a Woman’s Heart
Best Actor – Francis Mennigke in The Wall
Best Overall Production – Francis Mennigke and Rebecca John for The Wall

The winner of Best Overall Production receives an all expenses paid trip to compete in the ADFA Provincial Festival. This year, the festival will be held at the Bailey Theatre in Camrose this April.

Photo attached, appearing from left to right: Brodie Dransutavicius, Jane Leavitt, Michael Beamish, Francis Mennigke, and Shauna Lee.

Skip to content