Skip to content
Brave Girl – Lunchbox Theatre
Photo Credits

Announcement (National): Siminovitch Prize Short List

Announcement (National): Siminovitch Prize Short List

BMO Financial Group, sponsor of the Elinore & Lou Siminovitch Prize in Theatre, today announced the names of six Canadian playwrights who have made the 2011 short-list for the largest prize in Canadian theatre. The finalists are:

  • Robert Chafe, Newfoundland;
  • Jasmine Dubé, Quebec;
  • Greg MacArthur, Alberta/Quebec;
  • Joan MacLeod, British Columbia;
  • Mansel Robinson, Saskatchewan; and
  • Larry Tremblay, Quebec.

The six finalists were selected from 23 nominated Canadian playwrights. 

“On behalf of BMO Financial Group, I’d like to congratulate each of the finalists for their inspiring work and innovation, which have helped advance Canadian theatre,” said Gilles Ouellette, President and CEO, Private Client Group, BMO Financial Group. 

The recipient of the Siminovitch Prize will receive $100,000, of which $25,000 will be awarded to a protégé or organization of the recipient’s choice. The Prize will be presented on November 7, 2011 at a ceremony in Toronto. 

Download the full press release: 2011 Siminovitch Shortlist News Release FINAL2

Skip to content